Carnegie Mellon University|Portugal Program partners with the University of Texas at Austin for the 2009 Colab Mathematics Summer School and Workshop

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

The summer school and workshop is a yearly event that brings together Ph.D. students and junior faculty with well known experts in the several areas of mathematics. This year, the two-week program will be held in Lisbon, Portugal at the Interdisciplinary Complex of the University of Lisbon. The week of July 13 to 17 will feature a summer school for graduate students and postdocs, with lectures by E.Carlen, P. Degond, I. Gamba, M. Katsoulakis and R. Pego. The following week of July 20 to 24 will hold a workshop featuring lectures on recent progress in this field.

Register Now at

Graduate and post doctoral students are eligible to apply for funding for the first and second week of the program. 


Key Note speaker: Antonio Camera. Issues related to Digital Media
Invited workshop speakers: (* to be confirmed)

  • Juan Acebron (Universidade Tecnica de Lisboa)
  • Eli Ben Naim (Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA) (2 hour lecture)
  • Marzia Bisi (Parma, Italy)
  • Maria C. Carvalho (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
  • Fabio Chalub (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)
  • Isabelle Choquet* (University West, Trollhattan, Sweden)
  • Anabela Cruzeiro (GFM and Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal)
  • Miguel Escobedo (Universidad del Pais Vasco, Spain)
  • Ester Gabetta (Universita di Pavia, Italy)
  • Wilfrid Gangbo (Gatech, USA)
  • Diogo Gomes (Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal)
  • Patricia Goncalves (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
  • Michael Loss (Gatech)
  • Sylvie Meleard* (Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, France)
  • Stephane Mischler (Dauphine, Paris, France)
  • Clement Mouhot (Dauphine, Paris)
  • Filipe Oliveira (New University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Maria Joao Oliveira (CMAF and Universidade Aberta, Portugal)
  • Eugenio Regazzini (Pavia, Italy)
  • Christian Ringhofer* (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Lisa Santos (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
  • Dejan Slepcev (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Ana Jacinta Soares (Univerdidade de Minho, Portugal)
  • Tom Spencer* (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)
  • Giuseppe Toscani (Universita di Pavia, Italy)
  • Rui Vilela Mendes ( CMAF and Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal)
  • Cedric Villani* (ENS, Lyon, France)
  • Bernt Wennberg (Chalmers, Sweden)